CONTRACTOR HAPPY HOUR! – March Section Meeting 2019

Value Engineering Roundtable

VE is a Team Effort


The term Value Engineering gets a bad rap, but so many projects at one point or another need to go through a process of budget realignment. How can the players at the table make the process of VE more transparent and beneficial to the project as a whole? IES Milwaukee has assembled a group of participants from across different sectors of the local lighting industry to discuss the role of VE. This moderated roundtable format will allow both the panel and audience members to engage in a give-and-take discussion of the VE process and ways we can all engage in and improve upon it. We hope you can join us for what is sure to be a lively event!


Liesel Whitney-Schulte, DesignLights Consortium


Dave Arbeiter, Staff Electric
Holly Blomquist, Ring & DuChateau
Michelle Gross, CED/Lappin
Kevin House, Elan Lighting

Liesel Whitney-Schulte, LC, is the Program Director for the DLC, where her responsibilities include operational oversight of the Solid-State Lighting Qualified Product List (SSL QPL) program and support for technical development to help advance quality lighting products in the market. Liesel is driven by a passion for effective lighting design with over 20 years of experience in energy efficiency program administration and implementation and is Lighting Certified (LC) by the National Council on Qualifications for the Lighting Professions (NCQLP) since 2004, and currently serves on the Board of Directors for NCQLP. She has been an active member of the Illuminating Engineering Society of North America (IESNA) for 15 years, is a past president IES Milwaukee Section and currently serves on the IES Illumination Awards committee and Energy Efficiency Lighting Programs Working group.

Dave Arbeiter, is a Senior Electrical Designer at Staff Electric in Milwaukee. Dave has been involved in the lighting industry for 36 years in various roles including consulting and electrical contracting. He has working on a variety of jobs requiring value engineering and will provide a wealth of knowledge and insight during our round table discussion.

Holly Blomquist, is a lighting designer with Ring & DuChateau, a prominent engineering consulting firm in Milwaukee. Holly has over many years experience as a lighting designer as well as background in theatrical lighting. She has been an active member of the Milwaukee IES chapter. Holly’s experience with value engineering has come with projects working with some of the largest companies throughout the state.

Michelle Gross, is a lighting specialist with CED/Lappin, an electric supply company in the Milwaukee area. Michelle has over 20 years experience in the lighting industry. Past roles have included design applications for a local manufacturer, lighting showroom manager as well as quotations, project management, customer service and sales roles for a lighting agency. Through these positions, Michelle has had a variety of perspectives of design build and value engineering and her knowledge and experience will give valuable insight to the VE process during our round table discussions.

Kevin House, is in sales with Elan Lighting, works with specifiers, contractors and distributors to provide solutions for lighting and control needs. Kevin graduated from MSOE in 2009 and has been working in the electrical field ever since. He started as an intern with Pieper Electric, has worked as a distributor, a contractor and has extensive experience with design build and value engineering projects.

Happy Hour Pizza and Appetizers:

March Madness appetizers include Assorted Pizzas, Vegatable Crudite Platter, Caprese Skewers


$25/member (online payment)
$35/non-member (online payment)
$15/student (online payment)

If you select to pay at event there is a cost increase of $5 per person.

Social Hour starts at 3:30, food will be served at 4:30pm with the program beginning at 5:15pm.

March Madness games will be shown in our private room and bar until 8:00pm. Stick around for the fun!

Please RSVP below by NOON on Monday , March 18, 2019.

If you need to cancel your reservation on or before Monday, March 18, let us know. Click on the “Contact” link above and send your cancellation request to all Section Officers: Christine Brotz, Dave Huber, Colleen Kroll, Kailey Lietzke and Laurel Sangerman.  You will receive a confirmation of your cancellation within 24 hours. Per IES Milwaukee policy, un-cancelled “no-shows” will be invoiced the cost of attendance.



Vincent Patzke


John Baker

Gene Scholler

Philip Warren

Dan Walsh LC

Earl Homan

Tracie Losch

Teresa Jackson

Darren Gerrietts

Steve Jahnz

Veronica Reichert

Liesel Whitney-Schulte

Edward Ward

Jamie Napolitano

Logan Wenzel

Meghan Behn

Wade Koehler

Jim Knoerr

Andrew Slater


Michelle Klein

Kevin Andrews

Mark Mlazgar

Amy Hansen

Virginia Depies

Christine Brotz

Justin Hendrickson

Gerry Maier

Michelle Gross

Kristin Raduenz

Christopher Klein

Andy Schneider

Evan Hunt

Laurel Sangerman

Dave Arbeiter

Kevin House

Amanda Busalacchi

Steve Rekowski

Kristen Briggs

Joel Larson

Holly Blomquist

Barbara Hathaway

Rich Zakszewski

Melissa DeNicola

Colleen Kroll

Erv Stern

Kailey Lietzke

Dave Huber